beauty · lifestyle

New products / First impressions


Hello lovelies! Over the past month or so I’ve accumulated some new products so I wanted to give you guys a brief first impressions about what I thought about each one since I’ve been using them for a little while now! You might want to grab a snack or a hot drink as there is going to be quite a lot to get through (I’ll try not to bore you).                                                                                                                                                                                         

The product that I’ve been using for the longest and that I use everyday is the L’Oreal Pure Clay Glow Scrub this product aims to cleanse, brighten and exfoliate your skin. It uses 3 pure clays and red algae and you are meant to use it every morning and evening as part of your skincare routine. I only use this in the evenings once I have taken my makeup off because it is an exfoliater and since I have sensitive skin I do not want to over do it. This product has made my skin look and feel so much better. The past couple of months I have suffered with a dry patch around my mouth / chin and it doesn’t look attractive at all and the only way I can manage it and get rid of it (even if it’s only for a day) is to use this and exfoliate the area. I went away recently for 5 days and I didn’t pack this and my skin hated me for it, I had the worst dry patches that I couldn’t get rid of but as soon as I came home and used this, it sorted it out. For me, this is now a holy grail product as I feel like my skin would not be okay without it. I’m still only on my first bottle even though I use it everyday, a little goes a long way.      

                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

I then have the L’Oreal Hydra Genius Aloe Water I got it in the Dry & Sensitive Skin formula. The packaging is really sleek, it looks very high end with the glass bottle and general appearance. It is about £10 I think for 70ml so I do think it is quite overpriced for the amount you get. You are meant to use this as your daily moisturiser and it claims to keep your skin moisturised for up to 72 hours with only one pump for your face. I do like this product, my skin feels moisturised once I have put it on but I need to use at least two pumps to cover my face to feel like it is hydrated enough and there is something in this formula that makes my skin burn. When I first apply it (especially around the under eye area) my skin feels like it is on fire, a very uncomfortable pain, it does go down after around 30-40 seconds and then my skin feels nice but I think for something that is advertised for dry and sensitive skin then this should not happen at all. I won’t be repurchasing this when it has run out because of the burning that I experience but also because of the price and how little you get. I do not use this everyday, I’ve used it probably about 5-6 times and already a lot of the product has gone, I can’t see how this would last longer than a few weeks to a month if you were to use it everyday which means this could end up as a very expensive product if it worked out for you.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Superdrug had an offer running on the Real Techniques Prep & Prime Set so I got it for £7.99 which is a complete bargain. In the set you get a prime brush, an under eye reviver, a spatula and a miracle complexion sponge. I bought this purely for the sponge as the sponge by itself is £5.99 so for an extra £2 you get another 3 items which is so good! The prime brush I’ve been trying to use everyday to apply my primer, it’s okay, it looks exactly like their old style foundation brush so I assume it could work for that as well. The under eye reviver is a bit gimmicky but I have to admit I have fallen for it,  I forget mostly that it’s even there but when I do remember and use it, it feels cooling under the eyes which would help if your under eyes are puffy or you want to use it to rub in eye cream. I haven’t needed to use the spatula yet but this will come in handy to get the last little bits out of moisturisers, foundation bottles, etc. I already love the miracle complexion sponge so I was very glad to have a new one, my old one was getting a bit dead. I probably wouldn’t have gotten this set if it was full price but if you ever see it on offer then it’s worth picking up!     

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Next up is a gel eyeliner from MUA in the shade Underground which is just a black. This was like £3 and I just wanted a gel eyeliner to have in my draw because I always end up ruining my felt tip liners when I put them over eyeshadow so I bought this with the intention of using it as my eyeliner when I put on eyeshadow (totally haven’t remembered to do this). I’ve only used it a couple of times but it’s really soft to go on and when it dries down it doesn’t budge. For £3 you can’t go wrong.       

                                                                                                                                                                                       I also got the Revolution Silicone Sponge Tear Drop I DON’T KNOW HOW I FEEL ABOUT THIS. It was only £5. I don’t know if I’m using it wrong because one day I used it and my foundation looked so good and then I used it again and my foundation looked so cakey. Maybe if you use a BB or CC cream then this would be good or if you want something to apply a primer, moisturiser, liquid highlight but for foundation it’s just not working out for me. I tried using less product and then bouncing it on the skin but it just sits weirdly on top of my skin like a mask. I don’t know if it is because I have dry skin? If you have really clear skin it might work out for you but I don’t think it’s happening for me.                      

                                                                                                                                                                

A new eyeshadow palette that I got is the Revolution Flawless 3 Resurrection. I am in love with this palette, it has been my go-to whenever I have been wearing eyeshadow. I love the warm tones, you can create lots of different looks with it, the majority of the colours are very pigmented (only a few eh ones). I really like the shimmery shades for my inner corners or to add to the centre of my eyelid. The orange and pink shades are beautiful too. Go out and get yourself this palette you will love it! Plus it’s only £8 for 32 shades… you are not going to get better value than that.  Also the packaging is Rose Gold so I died.         

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     I picked up the #ProArtist Pro HD Longwear Concealer / Corrector from Freedom in the shade Yellow. This does help to brighten underneath my eyes and block out some of the darkness but it is very difficult to blend out, I don’t know if that’s because of my dry skin but the formula does feel quite thick. I like the applicator, it’s similar to the LA Girl one and you get 12ml of product which is really good for a concealer / corrector but I probably won’t repurchase it again.  

                                                                                                There’s been a lot of hype of the Revolution Skin Kiss highlighters so I had to pick one up. I got the shade Ice Kiss as I thought that would be the best for my skin tone. I was really drew to this product because of the packaging and the pan size is huge! This highlighter is okay, it is very glittery and does require quite a bit of blending. I don’t think this highlighter looks good if you use a fan brush, it literally looks like a stripe on your face but if you use a brush like the Real Techniques Setting Brush then it can look nice but this isn’t a product that I reach for on a daily basis.      

                                                                                                                                                                     A body mist I recently got is the So…? Vanilla Milkshake if you know me then you’d know I love anything vanilla scented (basic I know) this smells really nice but very sweet. There’s not really much else I can say about this, I like it, the scent lingers for as long as you would expect a body mist too.      

                                                                                                                                                                                          A nail varnish that I got was the Rimmel 60 Seconds in the shade 498 Rain Rain Go Away. I’m currently wearing this on my nails for the first time and it’s holding up really well. The colour is kind of hard to describe, it is like a muted grey toned lilac. You need at least 2 coats of the varnish to full cover the nails but it’s a really nice shade and I know that I’m going to get lots of use out of it. Update: after about 2 days it chips really bad on certain nails boo.  

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        The very last product and the very last thing I brought is a new foundation. I got the Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 with comfort serum in the shade Soft Beige. This is a really good shade match for me. The foundation is full coverage, it dries down semi-matte, feels really light on the skin and doesn’t cling to any dry patches. I have a feeling this could become my new favourite foundation it’s that good.       

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   I think that wraps up everything I’ve recently got, well done if you managed to read till the end haha. 

Let me know in the comments what new products you’ve gotten recently or how you’ve gotten on with any of the products I’ve mentioned above, I’d love to know!  If you enjoyed this sort of a post let me know as well and every couple of months I can do a post about my new products!              
                                                                                                                                                                                                                       
hol                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

One thought on “New products / First impressions

Leave a Reply

